Soldier Girl Coffee

Southern Pecan

To hell with pumpkin spice, give me my Southern Pecan

Like many people, I don’t consider myself awake until after having at least two cups of coffee. While I enjoy coffee from many different brewers, the coffee brewer I keep stocked at home is Soldier Girl Coffee which is owned and operated by a veteran named Carrie Beavers. 

As a veteran myself, I try to do my best to purchase as many products as possible from veteran-owned and operated companies. Buying my coffee from Soldier Girl doesn’t only check that box. Still, every month Carrie chooses another veteran-owned operation that is more focused on veteran health and wellness and spotlights them on her page. She also donates a portion of Soldier Girl Coffee’s profits that month to the organization. 

I have tried just about all of the Soldier Girl Coffee flavors, except the Hazelnut, but it is on my to-do list. My personal favorite is the CBD-infused French Vanilla, or should I say it was. To be fair, the CBD-infused French Vanilla is still my favorite with CBD, but my new favorite flavor is the Southern Pecan. 

 When Carrie announced she was introducing a new blend of coffee called Southern Pecan, I about leapt out of my shoes. I have a love for anything pecan flavored. Hell, I love pecans. I enjoy them more in the shell, so I get to crack them and extract the meat. It’s probably because as a child growing up, my mother and father had two great big pecan trees in their backyard. Nearly every fall, I would collect pecans and eat them. In fact, on weekends, my father wouldn’t even make me come home for lunch; he would just tell me to eat as many pecans as I could find. I was quite content with that proposal for two reasons.  First, It meant when all my friends had to go home for lunch, I could stay outside and play. Secondly, finding pecans in Fort Worth, Texas, is as easy as finding a rock on a gravel road. They are, after all, the Texas state tree. Nearly every block has at least one pecan tree; the only trick is knowing which trees were dropping fruit that year. Naturally, by the age of ten, I had the cycle of every tree within my six-block radius pegged. 

Pecan trees, like many hardwood trees, have alternate cultivating seasons. Meaning one year, they will drop a heavy load of pecans, and the following year they won’t bear as much, if any. I guess because God loved watching me eat pecans, the two trees in my parents’ backyard would drop on alternate years. So, every year at least one of them would drop a large number of pecans. I just had to fight the squirrels for them, but I had a dog for that. 

I recently received my Southern Pecan Blend from Soldier Girl Coffee, and from the moment I opened the bag, I was in love. The aroma coming from the bag made me instantly check my six for any potential squirrels wanting to take my bag from me. The gorgeous smell of coffee blended with a clear hint of pecan had my mouth watering as I loaded the coffee filter and filled the water reservoir.  I sat there anxiously waiting for the brewing process to be complete and filled my cup. I took my first sip and knew I had found an alternative to the French Vanilla. 

The other flavors I have tried

Like all of Soldier Girl’s coffee blends, the pecan flavor is subtle. I could have a slice of pecan pie with it and not have a pecan overload. However, a strange thing happens when I drink Southern Pecan coffee. The glorious taste of coffee is still in the forefront, letting you know this isn’t a sissy cup of coffee. But the smell of pecan wafting up from the cup is quite noticeable, combining with your taste buds producing a moment of unadulterated joy. Now in the cool mornings of fall, I can sit outside, enjoy the taste of pecans and not have to go under my tree to find some. This is a great thing because the pecan tree in my backyard didn’t drop very many this year. 

If you love pecans as I do, Southern Pecan from Soldier Girl Coffee is a must. Its rich coffee flavor, partnered with its bold pecan smell, hits your senses in all the right ways. God put your nose over your mouth for a reason, and with Southern Pecan Coffee from Soldier Girl Coffee for once, you’ll be glad he did. 

To hell with pumpkin spice, give me my Southern Pecan. Maybe just a splash of good whiskey, too.

Leave a comment